The Power of an Encouraging Word

A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver. (Proverbs 25:11)
Congenial conversation—what a pleasure! The right word at the right time—beautiful! (Proverbs 15:23 MSG)

I love words! I especially love personal, handwritten, beautiful words. I love words of hope, words that bring peace and comfort, and words that push me on to greater things. Yet so many words we hear these days do anything but make us feel loved or full of hope.

We are told we need something to make us prettier, something to make us thinner, something to make our hair shinier, something to make our teeth whiter, and the list goes on. In addition to all of this are the hurtful, wounding words that often come from those we love most. Sometimes words can be ugly and destructive, leaving a bruised, battered mess in their wake.

That’s why I appreciate the fact that our loving, heavenly Father took the time to see that His words were handwritten for us. The God of all creation took the time to personally communicate with us. I came across this verse recently, For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. (Rom.15:4) He (who knows us better than anyone) knew we would need His beautiful encouraging words along our walk in life.

Don’t you love the encouraging word of a friend? Is there anything better or more inspiring than a good word spoken in love? We already know the worst things of our own nature. Everyone does. We certainly don’t need them repeated back to us. Wouldn’t you rather hear those words that give you the strength to take that next step? Wouldn’t you rather hear the “Atta girl/boy! You can do it!” that spurs you on toward the goal and across the finish line? I would!

God’s Word gives us much needed instruction and correction. But His Word is also an encouraging revelation of His love and His thoughts toward us! Kari Jobe and Klaus Kuehn drew from several scriptures and wrote beautifully of God’s love for us in their song, “Beloved:”

“You’re My beloved, you’re My bride.
To sing over you is My delight.
Come away with Me, My love.
Under My mercy come and wait, till we are standing face to face.
I see no stain on you, My child.
You’re beautiful to Me, so beautiful to Me.
I sing over you My song of peace.
Cast all your cares down at My feet.
Come and find your rest in Me.
I’ll breathe My life inside of you.
I’ll bear you up on eagles’ wings and hide you in the shadow of My strength.
I’ll take you to My quiet waters. I’ll restore your soul.
Come rest in Me and be made whole.”

If you don’t already, please take the time each day to read His words to you. It will center you; it will give you hope, encouragement, and the strength you need to face each day. Don’t allow the enemy to tell you that you don’t have time, or that His Word is boring, or that you can’t understand it. He’ll do his best to keep you isolated from the one source of all you need. Read His Word before Facebook or Twitter, before watching the news, or reading the newspaper or your favorite novel. Make it your goal to spend more time in His Word than you spend on any other media or written resource.

Read His Word, talk with Him, rest in Him, be encouraged and be made whole. Then share His encouraging words of hope with those around you!

So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter. May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.” (2Thess 2:15-17)

Leave a Reply

